2014 Schedule

Friday, April 11, 2014

8:30 – 9:00 AMRegistration and Breakfast (Registration open throughout the day)
9:00 – 9:05 AMEvent OvalWelcome and Overview by Columbia Entrepreneurship Directors Chris McGarry and David Lerner
9:05 – 9:10 AMEvent OvalWelcome Address from Columbia University President Lee C. Bollinger
9:10 – 9:15 AMEvent OvalWelcome Address from Kathryn Kolbert, Constance Hess Williams ’66 Director of the Athena Center for Leadership Studies at Barnard College
9:15 – 9:18 AMEvent OvalVince Ponzo '03BUS, Director, Lang Entrepreneurship Center at Columbia Business School
9:18 – 9:45 AMEvent OvalKeynote: Shazi Visram '99CC, '04BUS Founder and CEO, Happy Family
9:45 – 9:50 AMEvent OvalIntroducing Dean Hubbard is Alex Ginsberg '14BUS, co-President of CEO, founding partner of New York's Dorm Room Fund

Intro by Glenn Hubbard, Dean and Russell L. Carson Professor of Finance and Economics, Columbia Business School
9:50 – 10:50 AMEvent Oval"New Venture Landscape, Then and Now"

Alan Patricof '57BUS- Founder Greycroft Ventures
David Tisch co-founder TechStars NYC, Managing Partner BoxGroup

Moderator Erin Griffith, Fortune Magazine
10:50 – 10:55 AMEvent OvalHousekeeping Farsai Chaikulngamdee, ‘14SEAS
10:55 – 11:05 AMBreak
11:05 – 11:10 AMEvent OvalPanel "Driving social change through entrepreneurship"

Introducing Mr. Witten is Emily R Washkowitz '14BUS, CEO VP of Conference
11:10 – 12:10 PMEvent OvalIntroduced by Richard E. Witten '75CC Special Advisor to the President, and Vice Chair Emeritus of the Board of Trustees
Geoffrey Canada, President and CEO Harlem Children's Zone

Dr. Vishakha N. Desai, Special Advisor for Global Affairs, President Emerita, Asia Society

Moderated by Claire Shipman '86 CC, '94 SIPA, Contributor to ABC News' Good Morning America
12:10 – 12:15 PMHousekeeping Farsai Chaikulngamdee, ‘14SEAS
12:15 – 12:40 PMLunch
12:40 – 1:50 PMEvent OvalCompetition Intro and rules overview CORE

Moderated by Kevin Zhang ‘14CC, Economics Political Science, President Emeritus and Alumni Chairman of CORE

Judges move immediately to deliberations in Diana 203
Housekeeping Farsai Chaikulngamdee, ‘14SEAS
1:50 – 1:55 PMRoom Change
1:55 – 2:10 PMEvent OvalConcurrent Panel #1: Innovation from Within, CEO Introduction
"Innovation in government organizations"

Introducing Mr. Klein Nick Crosthwaite, '14 BUS, CEO VP of Conference

Joel I. Klein, Esq. '67CC, CEO of Amplify, a subsidiary of News Corp.
2:00 – 3:10 PMAltschul 202
Concurrent Panel #2: "Early-Stage Funding Options All Cash Is Equal, But Some Cash is More Equal than Others"

Introducing the panel Adam Heller, ‘14BUS CEO VP of Conference

Panelists representing different forms of funding

Crowdfunding: Deborah Jackson '80BUS, Founder Plum Alley
Seed Fund Will D. Porteous General Partner and COO RRE Ventures
Angel Alicia Syrett '07BUS, Founder and CEO Pantegrion Capital
Accelerator KJ Singh '11BUS Director, Techstars NYC
Moderator Jerry Neumann '88, '90 SEAS, Founder Neu Venture Capital
2:10 – 3:10 PMEvent Oval"How entrepreneurs thrive in large organizations"
Ben McKean, GM Groupon
Kate Voyten, VP of Marketing for SK-II and The Art of Shaving
Emily Becher, General Manager, Samsung Accelerator
Ben Barokas, Google GM of Marketplace Development
Moderated by Isadora Tang, Creative Innovator, ?What If!
Housekeeping Farsai Chaikulngamdee, ‘14SEAS
3:10 – 3:20 PMRoom Change
3:20 – 4:25 PMEvent OvalPanel, "Columbia innovators growing a company out of college"
Introduced by Jackie Luo ‘17CC Philosophy, Business, vice president elect, CORE
Jocelyn Leavitt '07BUS, Co-Founder and CEO of Hopscotch
Doug Imbruce '05CC, Founder of Qwiki
Jared Hecht '09CC, Co-founder of GroupMe
Moderated by Deirdre Bolton, Fox Business Reporter
4:25 – 4:35 PMBreak
4:35 – 5:35 PMEvent OvalDrew Houston in conversation with Walt Mossberg
Introduced by Meghan Cross '15BUS
Drew Houston, CEO and Co-founder Dropbox
Walt Mossberg '70JRN, Co-executive Editor Re/code
5:35 – 5:45 PMEvent OvalClosing Remarks - Columbia Entrepreneurship Directors Chris McGarry and David Lerner
Competition Winners Announced
Andrew Satz '15GS, Economics-Philosophy, CORE President
Anshul Gupta ’17 SEAS, Computer Science, Executive Board Member, CORE
Delphine Braas ‘14BUS, Co-President of CEO
Nikhil Hanmantgad ‘14BUS, Co-President of CEO